LOVE…Even When It Hurts!

LOVE Picture

The gift giver became a gift receiver, two examples of love exchanged; one purchased, and the other spoken.

As my grandmother, Gammy, lay in bed with leukemia and between treatments, a visitor knocked on her door.  Carrying a basket of blessings, this sweet lady from my grandmother’s Sunday school class asked if she could visit a final time. Gammy raised her frail body from the grasp of soft sheets and covered herself with an oversized robe.  She was in no shape for company, yet she mustered the strength to meet her guest.  Within minutes, laughter filled the house, and I witnessed an uncommon act of kindness –LOVE.

What is love?

“Love endures long and is patient and kind; love never is envious nor boils over with jealousy, is not boastful or vainglorious, does not display itself haughtily.  It is not conceited; it is not rude and does not act unbecomingly.  Love does not insist on its own rights or its own way, for it is not self-seeking; it is not touchy or fretful or resentful; it takes no account of the evil done to it.  It does not rejoice at injustice and unrighteousness, but rejoices when right and truth prevail.”        –1 Corinthians 4-7

Reading that makes me feel a little unloving.

Am I the only one feeling this way?  Is it really possible to love others when life hurts?

According to God’s word, Yes!  Loving through the tears is not only possible, but it is also EXPECTED.  The Bible clearly sets the standard for loving others, and I have to admit, I don’t always reach the mark.

“But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” –Romans 5:8

In agony, Jesus still responded in love, and we are equipped to do the same.

Real love is expressed as one of the fruits of the spirit; therefore, we CAN unconditionally love as Jesus loves.  When we allow the Holy Spirit to work through us, we are then able to believe God to do for us what we cannot do for ourselves.  In place of our weaknesses, He gives us strength to do the impossible, to love others in the midst of our pain.  Since love is a choice and never a feeling, we can choose to rise above our situations, allowing God to work miracles from our lives.  It is through loving others that we experience true joy and purpose beyond our pain.

Friend, will you join me in choosing love today?

Jesus, I need you, and I know that you are with me.  Thank you for loving me and helping me, especially when I am hurting.  Lord, I know that you have a divine calling and purpose for my life right now, right here.  Please give me the strength to love others even when it hurts.  A-men

Blessings!  Michelle

Leave a Reply

