Does Your Graduate Have Enough Faith For College?

Image result for evolution

“EVERY year around this time, with the college year starting, I give my students The Talk,” — David P. Barash, an evolutionary biologist and professor of psychology at the University of Washington and the author, most recently, of “Buddhist Biology: Ancient Eastern Wisdom Meets Modern Western Science.”  He continues to explain the talk he has with incoming students of faith who need clarity in their understandings of biology.

He shares that he could take the path that other evolutionary professors have taken by suggesting that evolution and religion are “compatible,” meaning that God + The Big Bang Theory = life.  With strong convictions, he feels that this would be “misrepresenting both science and religion.”  Instead, he chooses to challenge his biology students through the lens of this belief, “The more we know of evolution, the more unavoidable is the conclusion that living things, including human beings, are produced by a natural, totally amoral process, with no indication of a benevolent, controlling creator.” To read the article further, you may click here: http:// http://www.nytimes.com/2014/09/28/opinion/sunday/god-darwin-and-my-college-biology-class.htm

With all due respect to Mr. Barash and his right to his beliefs, this article is a wake-up call to me as a Christian mother to my fifteen-year-old daughter.  As intentional as my husband and I are in leading our daughter to know and share the love of Christ, there is a force that is equally seeking to destroy the work that we have invested.

Expectantly, I rest in this promise from Proverbs 22:6, “Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.”  Training requires daily teaching and demonstrating faith in our children’s lives with an awareness that it will be challenged.  We must equip them for the war ahead.  Some of our children will fight for their faith in a college classroom, and others will defend it in the career world.  There is no doubt that their faith will be tested.  Are they ready for the test?

Friend, if you have young children, and especially if your son or daughter is a Christian attending college (public or private!), they need to know beyond head knowledge, but with heart knowledge, the answers to these questions:

  1. Do I know that the Bible is 100% accurate and reliable, and can I explain logically how I know?
  2. Do I know that Jesus really loves me, died for my sins, rose from death 3 days later, and spent 40 more days on earth?
  3. Do I know that I am fully forgiven from all of my sins after repenting of them, that to live in guilt is to believe my sin is bigger than  God (which isn’t true according to the Bible).  (Romans 8:1)
  4. Do I know that God has a plan and purpose for my life, and as long as I am breathing, I am full of purpose?  Jeremiah 29:11
  5. Do I know that God hears and refers to my prayers as an aroma filling His room?  (Revelation 5:8)
  6. Do I understand Natural Selection with scientific and Biblical research? (Side note:  Darwin had no knowledge of the existence of genes and mutations when he wrote The Origin of Species!)
  7. Do I recognize Genetics and DNA for their complexity in creation and science?
  8. Do I know the different beliefs for the origin of life and how they contradict the Bible’s creation story?  Can I suggest possible financial and ethical reasons for these contradictory beliefs?
  9. Do I have knowledge about the recent fossil discoveries, and how they contradict The Big Bang Theory?
  10. Do I know that if evolution (The Big Bang Theory) is correct, then everything is random and by chance, that sin does not exist since a righteous God does not exist; therefore, I have no purpose other than to live and die a meaningless life?  What’s the point of college?  (This is obviously wrong, but knowing the ethical and morality side of the equation is so important to the Bible’s truth.)

I would love to hear your thoughts and suggestions for equipping families with Biblical truth.  If there are specific subjects that you would like me to address at Intentional Living –Ramblings for a Change (previously choosetolivebeforeyoudie.com), please let me know how I can help!  Also, please don’t forget to subscribe to Intentional Living with your e-mail address at http://www.michellemarullo.com.  My goal is to help motivate you to fight the good fight, finish your race, and keep the faith. Together, we are shaping the hearts of our families for Christ, and ultimately, changing our world.  Blessings, friends!  Michelle 🙂

Resources that you will find helpful: 

Dr. Frank Turek’s curriculum & video  http://crossexamined.org/youth-exodus-problem/

Evolution’s Achilles’ Heels Book & DVD  http://creation.com/evolutions-achilles-heels

Focus on the Family TrueU (For High School / College students)  http://family.christianbook.com/page/tcg/fotf/focus-on-the-family-trueu?event=Home-Pages

Leave a Reply

